Clubs & Activities

Every La Salle High School student is encouraged to participate in as many co-curricular activities as his schedule will allow. This includes being involved in other organizations and causes outside the La Salle community.

Students are encouraged to be active participants in groups particular to their interests to foster personal development. With so many choices, everyone has a place to belong and make the most of his individual gifts and talents.

Some organizations also have academic classes with the activity. Programs include Band, Guitar, Vocal Ensemble, and Yearbook. If you are interested in these activities, please see the course offerings in Naviance and discuss with your counselor on selecting the course during registration.

See Athletics page for more activities and team sports.

Academic Team

Moderator:

  • Sophia Kostoff, skostoff@lasallehs.net

The Academic Team competes in “quiz bowl” style competitions (like Jeopardy!, but in teams). In general, practices will be held on Mondays from 3-4 in the media center. Competitions are held on Tuesdays throughout fall and winter at Cincinnati State.

Art Club

Moderator:

  • Ian Gunn, igunn@lasallehs.net

 

Audio Visual Club

Moderators:

  • Greg Lynch, glynch@lasallehs.net
  • Trey Aultman, taultman@lasallehs.net

This club provides sound and video support for various school functions including athletic events.

Band

The Pride of La Salle Band is made up of students from La Salle, Mercy McAuley, Roger Bacon, St. Ursula, Mount Notre Dame, and Catholic grade schools. Our motto is: Faith, Music, Excellence. We try to emulate our motto in all things we do. Students are pushed to become the best version of themselves.

The Pride of La Salle Band is an all-year activity for students. It includes:

  • marching band
  • wind ensemble
  • jazz ensemble
  • winter guard
  • pep band

Go to the Band And Ensemble page for additional information.

 

 

Campus Ministry

Campus Ministry offers multiple opportunities for students to get involved at La Salle and in the community.

Seniors are eligible to volunteers in leadership positions for Kairos, Sophomore Retreat, and Freshmen Day of Renewal. Please see your Senior Called To Serve information on how to apply. Please click here for information on the retreats.

More information about Campus Ministry can be found on their website at www.lasallehs.net/campus-ministry.

Chess Club

Moderator:

  • Jim Ryan, jryan@lasallehs.net

Choir

Director: Cindy Webb, (513) 741-2373; cwebb@lasallehs.net

The Vocal Program includes 2 groups: Men's Choir and Vocal Ensemble

The La Salle Vocal Ensemble is a Nationally recognized award-winning audition choir that is composed of La Salle students.  They are our Sacred Choir, Mixed Choir and Show Choir group. They perform several times a year with Mercy McAuley's Vocal Ensemble during the Christmas season and at a Spring Competition. Their performances have earned them special recognition's with Heritage Music, Music Festivals and Festival Disney in yearly competitions across the US.  Our Vocal Ensemble has participated in World Choir Games in 2012, and were named National Grand Champions in 2009 with Music Festivals. We serve as Ambassadors of La Salle High School by sharing our love of music, talents and leadership within the community.

Comedy Club

Moderator:

  • Luke Midkiff, lmidkiff@lasallehs.net

Computer Animation / Video Game Design

Moderator:

  • Luke Midkiff, lmidkiff@lasallehs.net

We will be working in 3ds Max and Blender creating 3d objects and games to be played.

 

 

Drama

Moderator:

  • Robert Stimmel, rstimmel@lasallehs.net

The La Salle Drama Department meets Monday through Thursday at 7:00pm-9:00pm from August until May because we are almost always rehearsing for something. We do many different shows each year to give more students the chance to showcase their various talents. Incoming freshman are eligible to audition for all productions!

THERE ARE MANY WAYS TO GET INVOLVED IN LA SALLE DRAMA! Go to the Drama page for additional information.

Eco Club

Moderator:

  • Jamie Moore, jmoore@lasallehs.net

Fencing Club

Moderator:

Fencing has the honor of being one of four sports that has consistently been a part of the modern Olympics since 1896. It is a sport that requires precision, speed, explosive power, quick physical reflexes, and even quicker mental reflexes. It is truly a whole-body workout!

  • Practices are once a week, from 3:00-4:15, late September to early May
  • We are a competitive club with the opportunity to compete in a league tournament for eight weeks from late January to March.

     

Click here for a complete flyer of information about our Fencing Club.

Film Club

Moderator:

  • Ian Gunn, igunn@lasallehs.net

 

Flag Detail

Moderators:

  • Steve Schulten, schulten@lasallehs.net
  • Ray Butler, rbutler@lasallehs.net

 

French Club

Club Moderator:

French Club meets once a month, and our goal is simple: have fun and experience the French culture is authentic ways.

Click here for a pdf flyer about French classes and French Club.

GoDoGood

Moderator:

  • Chris Winiarski, cwiniarski@lasallehs.net

Regularly scheduled Christian Service opportunities through GODOGOOD are available for students after school. A complete schedule of service dates are available on the Christian Service website.

Key Club

Moderators:

Key Club is an international, student-led organization providing its members with opportunities to perform service, build character, practice inclusiveness, and develop leadership. A major goal of Key Club is to develop competent, capable, caring individuals through the vehicle of service as and to a community. There are Key Club-sponsored service opportunities for which members can earn white or red service hours and which also count for their required service hours for graduation. One of the important characteristics of Key Club is that its membership is not exclusive; membership is open to every freshman-senior student who has a desire and commitment to serve. Our international motto of “Caring – A Way of Life” is directly aligned with La Salle’s mission of “Called to Serve.”

Meetings for the 2018-19 school year have not been announced. They will take place in the Media Center from 7:15-7:45 am OR 2:45-3:15 pm. To be an active member, students must attend 5 of 7 on-site meetings.

Sign up sheets will be available through google docs.

Mass Ministers

Moderator:

  • Aaron Hampel, ahampel@lasallehs.net

Students interested in volunteering to be servers, lectors, or Eucharistic Ministers during masses, please contact Mr. Winiarski or Mr. Hampel.

Model UN

Moderator:

  • Ray Butler, rbutler@lasallehs.net

Model UN gives students an opportunity to work on research, public speaking, and debate techniques. Students are given a topic or topics and will research and defend the appropriate position for the topic or topics.

National Honor Society

Moderator:

  • Matt McLaughlin, mmlaughlin@lasallehs.net
  • Lynda Hoffman- Jeep
  • Chris Majors
  • Leslie Porter
  • Nick Jarrell

The National Honor Society is an organization whose members provide service to their school, their fellow students, and the wider community. Through their involvement in various clubs, teams, other activities, and through their personal behavior, NHS members are expected to provide an example of Christian character and leadership in both formal and informal ways

 

Robotics

Moderator:

  • Jamie Moore, jmoore@lasallhs.net

Robotics club engages in robotic engineering and coding, ideally competing in several events throughout the year

Ski/ Snowboarding Club

Moderator:

  • Nick Jarrell, njarrell@lasallehs.net

Through La Salle, students and others in the La Salle community can get a discount on season or club program passes at Perfect North Slopes. To get the discount they need to:

-Go to www.perfectnorth.com
-Select the Club Log-In at the bottom of the page.
-Enter the following:
Club Name: LASALLE
Password: farside

From there they can see the options available for pass purchases. This is open to anyone in the La Salle community, alumni, parents, siblings, and friends. There are even pass options available for tubing.

Speech and Debate

Moderators:

  • Jessica Furgerson, PhD, Assistant Professor in Communication, English and Communication Department, University of Cincinnati, Blue Ash College
  • Angelo Sylvester, asylvester@lasallehs.net

Speech and Debate is a combination of public speaking, acting, and arguing in preparation for several competitions throughout the year

Student Council

Moderators:

  • Jamie Moore, jmoore@lasallehs.net
  • Abby Schneider, aschneider@lasallehs.net

Technology/ INTERalliance of Greater Cincinnati

Moderators:

  • Luke Midkiff, lmidkiff@lasallehs.net
  • Mike Holman, mholman@lasallehs.net

The technology club will meet approximately once per month to work on both short and long-term problems such as coding and robotics (Lego) and help to connect students with external technology partners and opportunities (with the assistance of the INTERalliance of Greater Cincinnati).