La Salle High School Advancement Office hosted the De La Salle Dinner at La Salle High School on Saturday, November 10, 2018 to recognize the De La Salle Society Inductees, the Hall of Achievement "Lancer of the Year" Inductee, and the Lasallian Pillar Award Recipients.

De La Salle Society inducted two families that have made La Salle High School a priority in their lives through the gifts of time, talent, and treasure: Jim '77 & Patty Hoelker and Dan '74 & Stormy Flynn.

Jim and his wife Patty are the proud parents of 4 children: Rachel, Rene, Joshua, and Nathan. They currently reside in Sugarland, TX. Jim and Patty have been religious contributors to the Annual Fund and capital efforts. Jim and Patty started a scholarship fund in memory of Jim's fellow classmate Dan Masur called the Dan Masur Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded yearly to assist deserving students looking for a La Salle education.

For over 40 years, Dan and Stormy Flynn have dedicated their time, talent and treasure to La Salle. Dan has worked at La Salle in many different capacities with the most notable as Athletic Director for 29 of those years. They have supported La Salle through numerous fundraisers and volunteering at thousands of events over the years. Dan continues to work at La Salle in the Advancement Department overseeing sponsorships and major gifts.

The Hall of Achievement "Lancer of the Year" Award honors La Salle alumni that symbolize the characteristics of a La Salle Lancer- pride, honor, integrity, and generosity. This year, the Hall of Achievement "Lancer of the Year" Award inductee was Jim Walsh '71. Jim is a dedicated family man with wife Karen and 3 children. He is a Little Flower, La Salle, University of Cincinnati grad and has received his MBA from Xavier University enjoying a successful career as a Vice President of Purchasing and Supply Chain Manager for Bluestar Inc. He continues to be a big contributor to the overall success and growth at La Salle as a key participant in the Alumni Association, scholarship/funding, La Salle Business Association, Development and Advisory Council, and past Chair of the Camelot Auction.

Lasallian Pillar Awards are awarded to alumni, friends and benefactors that have adopted one or more of the five core values that distinguish La Salle amongst other Catholic schools in Cincinnati: Leadership, Scholarship, Faith, Service, and Community.

Deacon Pat Palumbo '73 received the Faith Pillar Award. Pat grew up in Assumption Parish, is married to wife Debbie and has raised 2 children. After La Salle, he continued his education at UC and the Athenaeum of Cincinnati followed by a very successful career at Procter and Gamble in manufacturing and engineering. He was ordained as a deacon in 2004 and has assisted parishes throughout Cincinnati and also in Florida. Deacon Pat has been blessing for La Salle assisting in alumni retreats, all school masses, and participation in various committees.

The Service Pillar Award was awarded to Steve Bushman '85. Steve is a dedicated family man with wife Missy and 4 children. He is a Saint James, La Salle, Miami of Ohio grad and owner of Baker Insurance Company. He has served his parish and La Salle community by volunteering and being a key leader to support his past classmates in need. He has been instrumental in supporting his fellow Lancers John Wissel and the late Brian Peters through numerous benefit events. Additionally he has faithfully served his community in areas of coaching, festival volunteering, and athletic board participation.

The Community Pillar Award was awarded to Matt Barringhaus '95. Matt is a Little Flower and La Salle grad that went on to graduate from the United States Military Academy in 2003. He is currently a Supply Chain Manager at PG and a family man with wife Rebecca and two children. Matt has been an active member at La Salle in various areas including the Alumni Leadership Counsel and veteran related activities. He began his military career as a fixed wing and helicopter pilot with over 12 years of aviation experience which included 2 tours in Iraq. He has also received several medals and commendations over his distinguished career.

La Salle teacher Connie Saho received the Scholarship Pillar Award. Connie is a Little Flower, McAuley and Minot State University grad. She has spent a lifetime dedicating herself to the fine arts, education, and faith. Her dedication to student success is what truly makes her a special part of La Salle. Connie has been a teacher, director of Performing Arts, and retreat/immersion trip leader for many years sharing her talents and commitment to students from many different schools. She has received numerous awards for her leadership and contributions in both the Fine Arts and Education areas.

Note: The Lasallian Pillar Award for Leadership was not awarded in 2018.